Law Society

Join Now

  • Law Society Standard Membership£0.00

If you are studying Law you have come to the right place!

As a society we are committed to ensuring our members recieve the best opportunities to further their CV and pursue their dream careers in law. We give you the chance to meet professionals in the industry and better your legal skillset. We also want to make sure you have the best time you possibly can whilst at university.

The DMU Law Society is a great way to meet like minded individuals studying law throughout different year groups of the university. Although the society aids in its members academic studies we also organise a wide range of social events ranging from laser tag to pub crawls. Furthermore our careers organisers host events in which you can build up legal networks and gain insight into the most suitable legal career for you. Examples include court visits, trips to the Inns of Court in London, Q&A sessions with QC's, judges and solicitors and visits to annual law fairs.

Each year we organise an annual Law Society Ball which is hosted at a prestigious venue in Leicester. Prominent guest speakers are invited to the event every year so its not one to miss out on!

Membership is well worth it as only Law Society members can purchase tickets to events such as the Law Society Ball and other exclusive trips! Memberships and tickets to events can be brought through the DSU website.

We will be holding general members meetings each term to keep our members up to date and offer the chance for you to have your say in the running of the society. We will keep you up to date with 'shout-outs' at the beginning of lectures, regular updates to our facebook page ( and twitter page (@lawsocietydmu) so that everybody has the opportunity to get involved. 


Contact us at: *Please note this is a new email address and we are no longer using*


The Committee 2020/2021

* Chairperson - Liam Sharp

* Vice-chair - Becca Simm

* Treasurer - Sam Sayer

* Secretary - Lucy Mecklenburgh

* Law Ball Co-ordinator - Katherine Pruett

* Social Secretaries - Charis Sharma

* Sports Secretary - Regan Goodburn

* Charity Secretary - By-Election

* Health & Safety Officer - Devon White

* Legal-i Editor - Sam Barker

* Career Representatives - Ellie Brailsford & Lauren Ridgewell

* Careers Organiser (Barrister) - Sophie-Ann Rooney

* Careers Organiser (Solicitor) - Stephanie Boampong

* First Year Reps - Jessica Toomey

* Second Year Rep - Gurpreet Basra

* Third Year Rep - Will Shiner

1st Year Rep
Jessica Toomey
2nd Year Rep
Gurpreet Basra
3rd Year Rep
Will Shiner
Career Representatives
Ellie Brailsford
Lauren Ridgewell
Careers Organiser (Barrister)
Sophie Rooney
Careers Organiser (Solicitor)
Stephanie Boampong
Liam Sharp
Health & Safety
Devon White
Law Ball Coordinator
Katherine Pruett
Legal-i Editor
Sam Barker
Lucy Mecklenburgh
Social Secretary
Charis Sharma
Sam Sayer
Vice Chair
Rebecca Simm
There are no current events to display.
No Elections running
Please note only members of this group are able to use student group finance online system.